Trend: Bomber Jackets

Who would have thought that the bomber jacket would do full circle in my life time…  I remember these when I was younger when I was about 14/15 years old. I never did have one when I was younger but always wanted one as at that age I thought they were cool, stylish and fashionable.  The 90’s gave us crop tops, bomber jackets and Victoria Beckham but it also gave us leggings with stirrups (#fail). Retro revivals can be a bit hit and miss, but like your mother always said, trends often come back around.

History: The flight jacket, bomber jacket, or bombardier jacket refers to a garment jacket type originally created for military pilots. They eventually became part of popular culture and apparel.  Flight jackets have been popular with skinheads and scooterboys from the 1970’s onwards.  In the early 2000’s, the jacket was popular casual wear in hip-hop fashion. The jacket has also caught on with several police departments across the United States for its sturdy design and heavy insulation.

There are so many styles of Bomber jackets out on the market from high street to designer, what with working at New Look I have my eye on two which I am looking at purchasing on payday, roll on 24th March.. Whoop Whoop :). New look have a good selection in at the moment and they also have a floral one coming soon as well which I am a little excited about.  Here are a few selections from New Look..

Lightweight Bomber Jacket £24.99

Top Black / Bottom Khaki

Sateen Bomber Jacket £29.99

Top Mink / Bottom Stone

Bomber Jacket £34.99

Top Black / Left Navy / Right Stone

I have also browsed River Island and they have 17 on the website, and the have some varied styles not just your classic bomber jacket style, here are a few of my favorites..

Faux Suede Laser Cut Bomber Jacket £40.00

Comes in Beige and Navy – This is quite cute bomber jacket, relaxed fit.

Red Crochet bomber jacket £45.00

I have fallen in love with the below Red jacket, it brings a pop of color to any outfit and will make you stand out from the crowd! I think I’ll have to splurge out on this one…

Left – Green printed bomber jacket £35.00 / Right – Red printed bomber jacket £40.00

Hope you have enjoyed this post… Happy Bomber Jacket hunting if you haven’t already on the trend… Oh and Happy Hump day…

Lots of Love

Carina

XxX

4 thoughts on “Trend: Bomber Jackets

Leave a Reply

